A New Year, A New You

Happy New Year!  Well I am a little late starting this blog, due to technical difficulties in the blogging world.  However, we are up and running now and I will be working on those New Year Resolutions!  Last year ended rough for Jeffery and I.  Actually, I should say it was comparable to a scene in a movie where a car is racing around curves on a cliff and hits a slick spot only to begin tumbling down the side of a mountain.  Then once you reach the bottom and figure out you are miraculously still alive, your car explodes, then it starts to thunderstorm.  Yea, it was that bad.  But hey, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

After the semester ended, we both had some time to recover and get some much needed relaxation time.  For me, my time spent relaxing was spent doing a lot of reflecting.  I decided that this year was going to be a good year no.matter.what.  I read a quote one time that said “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”  It was stated by Elanor Roosevelt, if you think about it, she had some  great quotes.  But I digress.  I  decided to take this quote to the next level and apply it to my life, no one can make me feel anything without my consent therefore I am in control of my own emotions.  If I am in control of my own emotions, I am in control of my own destiny.  Well, at least to a certain extent.  I am in control of the choices I make and I am in control of  the way I choose to respond to external factors in my life.  And man, when that epiphany hit it was like my eyes were opened to a new world.  I realized that my world is what I make it out to be, not what someone else makes it out to be.  From that point on, I was flooded and I mean flooded with things I could do to take control of how I respond in different situations and things I could do to change my life for the better.

So I started writing them down and transformed them into my 2012 list of New Year resolutions.  The list is currently at 23 and still growing.  I made the list as detailed as possible while still keeping it simple (gotta love the KISS theory).  As many of you may know, I have been going to WeightWatchers over the past year and a half.  One of the things we talk about a lot in the meetings is setting goals and storyboarding.  I tried to take this concept away from the food realm and apply it to life.  I had a long term goal of living a healthy, happy, and accomplished life but I need a plan, or a map if you will, on how to get there.  So, 26 (almost 27) years into my life I will start my map.  *sidenote* this is NOT implying that the past 26 years have not been happy, healthy (well that’s debatable), or accomplished this is just saying that now that I have achieved some of my life goals it is time to refocus and set new life goals.  Back to my original point,  I wanted to set goals that I knew I would achieve this year and that I would achieve very soon so that I could build up confidence in myself that I am capable of reaching my goals.  But then I also set goals for the year that were more long term and required a little more effort on my part throughout the entire year.  Another thing WW taught me was to not focus too far into the future, if you have 100, 50 or even 25 lbs to lose you’ll never feel like you can get there and you are defeated before you start.  But if you focus on challenges you know you can reach (like losing 5lbs) eventually, you’ll reach your goal (if you just keep losing 5lbs at a time).  So to that end, this year I am taking things day by day when it comes to my long term goals.  I know where I want to be and I have a detailed map for how to get there.

So folks, today’s moral-of-the-story moment:  If you can believe it, you can achieve it.  You have to believe in yourself that you can do anything (and I promise, you can).  All it takes is a goal and a plan to reach that goal (no matter how small or how insignificant to you it may seem at first).  If you keep achieving those little goals before you know it they will develop into a HUGE pile and you will reach your main goal.  See yourself at the “finish line” and I guarantee you it will change your life.

So what were your resolutions this year?

Smile,

Shley

2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New You

  1. Great post 🙂 Main goal concerns my thesis and then I’ll be setting new goals! One day at a time with mini goals achieved each day is my goal this year!

  2. That’s a great goal to have! Breaking it down really makes it attainable and keeps you from feeling overwhelmed! Good Luck with your thesis 🙂

Leave a Reply

