So it begins…

Break has finally come to an end.  For the most part it was a really relaxing winter break, until the end at least.  But hey, lets just say that break ended with a bang…literally.

Tomorrow I will be starting my third semester in my Ph.D. program.  I have big plans to hit the ground running and a list of things to accomplish this semester a mile long to boot.  My main priority with school this semester is going to be focusing on writing my dissertation proposal and taking my oral and written comps.  I had planned on completing that last semester but then life kind of got in the way and we hit a couple of setbacks (some wanted and welcomed, others not).

For those of you that are not familiar with my work, I study the relationship between climate and health outcomes.  My master’s thesis looked at the relationship between cold weather and mortality.  I changed gears a little with my dissertation work and I will be focusing on the relationship between weather and physical activity.  Even though I will spend the majority of my time working on my dissertation, I do have some other research projects where I will be going back to my roots and looking at weather and mortality/morbidity patterns.

I have always been interested in the weather and health so I’d say this blend of research is right up my alley :).  I consider myself extremely fortunate to be in the position where I am able to study what I am interested in.  Some people go through their lives always wishing that they could have done things differently or wishing they would have taken a different road.  Me, well I can’t exactly say that, I feel as though am I right where I should be at this point in my life and I am doing what I should be doing.  Even though I have my off days, I can honestly say that I have no regrets making the decision to continue with school through the completion of my Ph.D.  I have to say though, I never thought I would see the day that being a student was over for me but the end is drawing oh so near and to be honest it is a little scary to think about what lies beyond being a student (in the formal sense of the word).

On that note, I am going to keep it a bit short tonight (my TV shows start back up this week/tonight and we are on the clock here people 😉 ).  Whatever you do in life, do it well.  Do it with pride and passion.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed so live with no regrets and make the most of every opportunity you are given!  Then and only then will you have lived your life to the fullest extent possible.

Happy Sunday!

Shley

One thought on “So it begins…

Leave a Reply

