You never know who is watching…

I got a phone call tonight from a dear friend of mine that I haven’t talked to in a while. It was wonderful to hear her voice and even more amazing to hear how well she is doing. She shared a story with me tonight that touched me in so many ways that I had to make our conversation the topic of my blog.

This particular friend and I have been friends for around six years. Lately, she has really become more aware of making healthy decisions in terms of her eating and exercising habits. I’ve been watching her mile time steadily improve through her Facebook posts so I shared with her how proud I was of her and how well I thought she was doing. When we really got into the conversation she started telling me about how she was eating better and she wanted to know about burpee’s and SDHP’s. I have to admit, I have never talked to anyone so excited to work on burpee’s 😉 but, I digress.

She then shared with me that reading my blog and seeing all this stuff I was doing (and loving) really inspired her and she wants to learn all about it and wants to be “one of those people that is excited about her workouts”. Mind you, until I found CF I never would have put myself in this category. I told her that she needed to listen to a recording of herself because to me it sounds like she was stoked about what she was doing. We ended the conversation shortly thereafter but I can’t help but think about just how happy I am for her and where she is at this point in her life. It’s amazing to know that she has taken some really great steps and that she was using me a one of her cheerleaders.

Being a cheerleader for her is a lot bigger responsibility than it may seem but I am totally up for it. Hearing her story has inspired me to continue to strive to be the best person I can be because she made it clear to me that I am somewhat of a role model for her. You never know when you are going to receive a phone call from someone like the one I got tonight, but it touches your heart and also keeps you on your game. When you start sharing your story with people, people start to relate to you and if you happen to have overcome something that they are just starting to get a grasp of you can become a role model to them whether you realize it or not. You never know when someone looks up to you, so always strive to be the best person you possibly can be.

To my dear friend, whether you realize it or not you have inspired me to keep pushing through my tough days! I love you and I am happy for all that you have accomplished 🙂

Leave a Reply

