Game Day

Well today was the closing ceremony for the WLC.  It sure has been an amazing 8-weeks!  It truly was an amazing experience and I have learned so much from participating.  I can honestly say I will never look at food the same way again.  Congrats to all of the participants and the winners!!  Can’t wait until the challenge rolls around again next year!

Speaking of food, today is game day in the college football world.  Game-day is one of my favorite days of the week, especially when State (Mississippi) comes out on top.  We are playing LSU this weekend so it’s going to be a tough battle.  Game-day in the south means tons of tailgating snacks, meat smokers, tents, and in Starkville it means cowbells.  We are watching the game with some of our LSU friends today and I wanted to keep the menu as Paleo friendly as possible.  I didn’t really have a plan prior to this morning but nothing screams “deep south” more than pulled pork.  So I pulled out the pulled pork recipe from my favorite cook book (Paleo Comfort Foods) and put the hubby to work.  I also decided to plan a side dish to go with the pork and finally settled on a squash casserole from the same cookbook, after about 10 minutes of flipping pages.  So squash casserole doesn’t exactly scream game day BUT I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while and there will be plenty of people to eat on it for a while and give feedback!

I have a couple more updates on blog changes 🙂 I’m planning to do some themed posts throughout the week.  I’m going to start with having a weekly blog/website spot light, I’d also like to have a day with a featured recipe (a new one that we try every week), and then I’m dabbling with the idea of posting my weekly meal plans.  That being said, if you have any paleo/whole-living websites that you just absolutely love send them my way and they may be the following week’s spotlight!  Also, if you have any suggestions for themed posts send them along as well!

Hope everyone enjoys the rest of their Saturday!  GO DAWGS!

 

Leave a Reply

