Wacky Wednesday!

I just love when life sends you little signs that you are on the correct path.  I’m a huge believer in signs, especially when they correspond with significant events in your life.  Take today for example, today is the 19th anniversary of the passing of my mom.  Obviously, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about her today but I’ve also spent a lot of time lately thinking about future plans and goals of mine.  Well today she made it very clear to me that things are moving in the right direction through a simple Facebook post from my box (CF term for gym) letting me know they are thankful for my hard work.  I have really been putting in a lot of time working out some goals and what not and this was just a reminder to keep on chugging, its all about the journey.

Anyway, enough about me already!  I have exciting news to roll out to y’all!  Please lets give a warm welcome to yet another phase in the blog update process….the weekly featured recipe!  This one comes to us from my trust ol’ cookbook Paleo Comfort Foods.  I had been dying to try it since I got the book and FINALLY found a perfect opportunity.  Needless to say, this will definitely be made again :).  So, without further ado – I bring to you:

Squash Casserole

Ingredients
2 lbs yellow squash, diced
1 onion, sliced
3/4 c coconut milk
1/2 c almond meal
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 c chopped
pecans

Steps
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2.  Boil onion and squash until softened
3. Drain vegetables and return to pot
4. Mix coconut milk, almond meal, and paprika with the vegetables, stir well
5. Place mixture in casserole dish, top with pecans
6. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until mixture is bubbly and thickened and pecans are golden brown

YUM-O!

I have to tell y’all, this cookbook has been one of the best purchases I have ever made.  I haven’t had it but four months and I’ve already worn it out.

Speaking of recipes, one of the biggest holiday’s of the year is right around the corner!  We are hosting Thanksgiving this year and can you guess how excited I am to try out some new recipes :)?  We are going to be making some traditional family favorites along with some new Paleo style dishes.  I’ve really been working to get together a plan of attack for the big day and it’s pretty much all in place with the exception of the cooking schedule and purchasing all the ingredients.  We are even getting a fresh organic turkey this year 🙂 reserved it today when I was at Earth Fare!  Better not lose this bad boy…

Check out a little snippet of the Paleo portion of the Thanksgiving menu:

Thanksgiving Meal
Dry Brined Turkey
Paleo Stuffing
Mashed Cauliflower
Collard Greens
Sweet Potato Casserole
Tart Cranapple Sauce
Sauteed Apples

I also have to share my shopping list – which, along with my Thanksgiving meal spreadsheet, is the star of the show:

love me some Earth Fare 🙂

Well everyone – that’s all I have for you this evening.  I will certainly have more to come on the Thanksgiving front as we get closer to the big day 🙂  Until then stay happy my friends 🙂

Ash

Leave a Reply

