Weekly Meal Plan and Resource Round Up Week 3

It’s hard to believe that this is the third week for a meal plan and resource round-up! I feel like I just started making these changes yesterday. I suppose the saying, time flies when you’re having fun really is true 🙂

I think my holiday schedule is finally catching up with me. I’ve been doing a lot of running around and not doing a lot of recovery and I’m guessing that it’s the main reason that I feel like I could go to sleep right now and sleep all night. In fact, even though I’m a little behind on the posts I’m probably going to keep tonight’s short and then mosey on up to bed (mind you, it’s only 7:20 pm here).

So lets get started! I’m gonna shed a little insight. When I first start meal planning the plan looks a bit different than the final prepared version I present in my posts. I have actually been creating plans this way for years because I find is very easy for me to create a shopping list and even order my shopping list based on the layout of the store. I promise y’all I do not have OCD (well maybe a little) but I just find it’s a lot easier to stay on budget that way and some of the stores I shop at are not exactly designed to handle the large volume of people that shop there so naviagating them can be a challenge.

I create the meal plan and shopping lists on my phone and just erase the items as I plop them in my cart. I find that doing it this way serves several beneficial purposes:

1. It keeps the budget in check
2. I am RARELY without my phone, therefore, chances of forgetting the list at home are significantly less which then increases the chances of number 1 (above).
3. I feel as though I am doing society a favor by saving a tree and therefore making the air cleaner and easier to breathe. Everyone enjoys breathing, right? That’s what I thought.

So here is the “first draft” (Courtney – that’s a shout out to you and all of your kick @$$ work on the thesis):

Meal Plan Week 3

So at first glance you are probably like what the heck? But let me decode it for you. Let me also just tackle the elephant in the room…there are OBVIOUSLY several items on this list that are not paleo-friendly. I live in a house with two other people who do not exclusively eat paleo. I cannot force anyone to do anything and to that extent, when you have survived 87 years eating hot dogs and cereal…who am I to stop you now?

Now that THAT is cleared up lets get on to the decoding. I usually start with dinners. Dinners are typically always paleo (yes, even where it says potatoes…that means sweet potatoes). I generally list the protein then the side and then in parenthesis the amount of meals it needs to last. So take the slow-cooked ham for example. The ham is obviously the protein and the (3) indicates it needs to last three meals…the three sides are going to be greens/sauteed cabbage/potatoes. If we have a soup, like the first one listed (Chicken Tortilla-less Soup) I’ll just list the name and the number of meals. Lunch and Breakfast generally stay the same throughout the week so they aren’t really as detailed as the dinner section. I also don’t list items that I have on-hand. For example, my snacks during the week usually consist of some type of nut or nut butter. This week I had plenty on hand so I didn’t put it on the meal plan to prevent from over purchasing and going off budget.

There. Now you know my secrets 🙂

So where do I get some of these yummy recipes from? Obivously, if you haven’t figured it out by now, I have been relying HEAVILY on my Paleo Comfort Foods (click the link if I have conviced you to buy it, it’ll take you right to it on Amazon) cookbook. After thanksgiving, I have cooked a large majority of the recipes in there and while I do love them dearly, I wanted to get another paleo cookbook to begin branching out. The hubs and I work opposite schedule so using the slow cooker is great for us because we don’t have to take too much time out of our crazy schedule to have a wonderful nutrious meal. This past weekend we did a little shopping and I happened to pick up a few new Paleo books:

Paleo Books

The three recipes we are having for dinner this week just so happen to be from the new slow cooker cookbook.

With all this chat you’d think that I’m planning on using one of the new books as a featured resource. Well guess what, I’m not. I’m actually planning on telling you about this WONDERFUL website that I stumbled upon a couple weeks ago. It’s called The Food Lovers Kitchen (previously The Food Lovers Primal Palate) and is located here. I first heard about this website on the podcast I have been listening to (Balanced Bites). When I got to the website I was nothing short of amazed with all that it had to offer. They even have an AWESOME App, myKitchen (for your iPhone or Andriod) that allows you to select recipes and will generate a customized shopping list for you! The best part about the website (or perhaps the owners of the website) is that I emailed them to ask permission to share my love of their blog on my blog and they responded within an hour saying they would be more than willing to let me do that! Oh – they have a cookbook too 🙂 it’s on my Christmas List!

Well, I think I am going to call it quits there! Go check out the new resource, you won’t be disappointed.

Stay happy (and healthy), my friends 🙂

Ashley

Leave a Reply

