Making a comeback

Hey Everyone! It’s been a while since we last spoke but I’ve had a few requests lately to get my blog up an going again, so I figure it’s time for a comeback.

Last time we spoke, I was in the middle of making some changes to the blog…I have a few more coming, lets just leave it at that. Okay – ill give you a hint, there will be some shifting around of my themed posts. There that’s it 🙂

So to catch you up to speed, we just celebrated the hubby’s 27th birthday at the lake cabin.

20130210-113030.jpg

The drive in was a bit snowy, but the cabin looked so pretty in the snow!

20130210-113001.jpg

It was nice and relaxing, plus we got to see the family :).

There was even a really nice sunset one evening we got to enjoy, from inside of course…

20130210-113223.jpg

We did a TON of cooking while we were there! Probably the most favorite meal of the trip was the birthday boy’s birthday dinner so lets dive on in to the meal and all of its glory!

Birthday Dinner
Bacon wrapped filet mignon
Roasted Potatoes
Sautéed Brussel Sprouts
100% Homemade Ice Cream Cake

The meal itself was actually fairly easy, it was the cake that took some planning 🙂  I actually combined three recipes on my own to make this one, and I’m quite proud of it too!

We purchased all of our food ahead of time and took it with us so that we could eat as cleanly as possible. Lets be realistic though, it was vacation so we did away from the meal plan a bit (paid the price too 😦 ).

So about those steaks. Be sure to get out your grill skillet for these! But lets not get too ahead of ourselves because we need to get the potatoes going, so preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Toss the cubed potatoes in a bowl drizzle with olive oil, the sprinkle with salt, pepper, and parsley. Once they are good and coated throw them on a baking sheet and place in oven for 45 min.

IMG_1139

Okay back to the steaks. Get your grill skillet cranked up pretty high because the first step in the process is to sear the outside of them, once this has been completed you’ll want to wrap your bacon around them and secure with a toothpick, then pop them in the oven until the desired internal temperature is reached.  We prefer ours just over Medium Rare so we cooked it to 140 degrees.

The brussel sprouts were sautéed in butter, but I think for next time I’d like to try it in bacon grease.  I cut this in half, chopped up an onion, and threw in some garlic until the sprouts softened.  Easy, peasy.

The end result looked something like this:

IMG_1150

Like I said, this was relatively easy compared to the cake, not that the cake was hard by any means but it just took some time to prep.

I used three recipes for this cake two of which were from the food lovers primal palate website, chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream and a slightly modified version of their dark chocolate cake.  For the chocolate cake, I did not use a dark cocoa powder, hazelnut frosting, or chocolate ganache.  The cookie dough ice cream requires that you make the chocolate chip cookie dough ahead of time but it freezes well!  I do have to forewarn you that this recipe is amazing and it will be really hard to keep it around long (you can eat it straight up because it has no raw eggs), so plan accordingly 🙂

So for the icing I made some of my coco loco whip.  This is a super easy recipe that is so versatile you wouldn’t even believe.  To date, I have used this as an icing, a fruit dip, and a snack.  I have also made three variations of it by adding pumpkin, as well as  almond butter in with and have future plans for about three more variations.  So here’s the recipe…

Coco Loco Whip
1 can of full fat coconut milk (refrigerated overnight)
1/2 cap full of pure vanilla extract
raw honey (optional – add to desired sweetness)

Once the can of milk has been chilled over night remove the solids from the can and put into a mixing bowl, add the vanilla extract, and the desired amount of honey (I usually add 1-2 tablespoons) and then whip it with a hand/stand mixer until it looks like you could scoop a dollop (2-4 minutes). That’s it!

Okay so now for the final assembly…I took one of the 9 in cake circles and placed it in the freezer (after it had cooled) for about 20 minutes, I then took the ice cream out and let it soften just until it was easy to spread.  Once it had softened I took out the frozen cake placed the ice cream on top and then placed the other 9 in cake circle on top of it.  I had to work VERY quickly because the ice cream was already soft,  and this was a very messy process!  So once it was all assembled I put it back in the freezer and did not ice it until right before it was served.

Here’s the final product 🙂

IMG_1148

Yum yum!

So I have a couple more recipes that we made while on the trip, but I think I’ll save those for later this week 🙂

Until then here are a couple pictures that I took from around the lake town

IMG_1157

IMG_1158

IMG_1188

I’ll be working this week to get the blog back to normal…until then, enjoy 🙂

One thought on “Making a comeback

  1. Pingback: Menu for the week of February 10 | Cookin' Up Life

Leave a Reply

