Meal Planning Week 1- Take 2

Hey Everyone!  I hope you all had a fabulous weekend.  Ours went well, we got a lot of work done and even got to spend some time with good friends!

As many of you know, I am working on getting the blog going again.  It may be a little rocky at first while I am working out scheduling issues but I’m going to do my best.  That being said there are a couple things I wanted to share with all of you today.  Well actually three things, first I’ll start with the most exciting news…I started weighing everything I eat (in an effort to watch my portions) and last week I lost 6.4 lbs doing so!  Crazy, but exciting!!  Second, part of my master plan is to share my weekly meal plans with you all.  Not only do I plan on sharing my proposed plans, but I will also share with you what I actually ate during the week and try to do a pretty detailed analysis as to why I may have varied and what I could have done better.  Third, I have a wonderful recipe that I want to share with everyone today as well 🙂

So let’s get started, but first…some coffee :).  Speaking of coffee, I have been drinking it a lot more than usual lately, not really because I feel that I need it but I just enjoy it so much, especially on mornings when the temps are in the single digits!

Okay – Meal Planning 🙂

My husband and I are very busy people.  We both work full time, take care of my grandmother, have two wonderful dogs, three kitties, and we try to maintain a healthy lifestyle by making wise decision regarding what we eat and exercising at least 3-4 times a week.  With the majority of our time being taken up by other priorities we have to have a plan in place for our weekly meals to stay sane.  We have found that having a meal plan takes the thinking about food out of the equation during the week.  Often times, when you are in a pinch and have to think about what you have around to eat you are either A) likely to get stressed out because you have to spend time out of your already busy schedule planning a meal and then cooking it or B) you are like to just throw your hands up in the air and go out to grab a bite to eat, which for me generally ends poorly for my diet as well as my wallet.

Disclaimer: I am by no means saying that you should NEVER go out to eat but schedule those meals into your plan and your stomach and wallet will be a whole heck-of-a lot happier.

I think society as a whole has gotten to the point where too much time is being spent out at restaurants because it is convenient and the majority of restaurants load your food with preservative after preservative and it really slows down your system and generally just makes you feel like blah.  Not to mention, food is something that should be shared with the family.Not just eating a meal around the table but the whole process.  Starting with where the meal comes from (and I’m not talking about the grocery store , I’m talking about the grassroots here people), to the preparation of the meal, to sharing it together.  It is somewhat of a sacred ritual that creates a family bond and I think we have just gotten so far removed from spending time with family that it is just sad.  Okay – off the soap box now.

So here is this week’s meal plan:

Weekly Meal Plan 1

(sorry the image isn’t the greatest, I’ll work on that for y’all)

At first glance, it may look a bit redundant but we get our variety at dinner.  I have found that since we both work full-time jobs it is quicker and easier to have the same lunch and breakfast every day during the week.  I promise you that it doesn’t get boring because as you’ll see, the weekly lunch menu changes (breakfast pretty much stays the same because it is less prep work on Sunday, but occasionally we’ll have a frittata or quiche to munch on for breakfast during the week).  Oh another thing I want to note about this, you may be wondering why I write down the meal even if it is the same thing every day… it’s called accountability.  If I have it written down on paper, it is like a contract that I have agreed to and therefore I can’t change it.  If it’s not written down, it’s a free for all.

So about that recipe I promised you…and yes I have pictures 🙂 This recipe comes from my favorite cookbook, Paleo Comfort Foods.  It serves 12 and for those of you weight watchers out there, it weighs in at 6 points plus per serving.

Crustless Quiche

Ingredients

12 large eggs
½ cup almond flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ cup butter, melted
1 cup onions, chopped
1 cup spinach, rinsed
½ cup red bell peppers, diced small
½ cup green bell peppers, diced small
¼ teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground

 Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. In a large bowl, whisk eggs together until slightly foamy.  Stir in almond flour and baking powder.
  3. In a large sauté pan, melt butter, then add in onions and spinach, cooking until onions are translucent.  Mix in the peppers and any other vegetables of your choosing.
  4. Stir the veggie/butter mixture into the eggs, and pour the contents into a 9 inch X 13 inch baking dish and top with pepper.
  5. Bake for 45 minutes or until cooked through.

 The result:

IMG_1152

We put some bacon on top of the quiche during it’s last 20 minutes of cooking and man, that really made this dish.  So enjoy!  This slices nicely, stores well, and is a quick grab and re-heat meal to have on hand during the hustle and bustle of life during the week.

Time for me to go wind down after an awesome WOD tonight.  Hope you all had a great Monday!  Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

