Never hesitate, always go for it!

I’m going to share a secret.  I have an insane addiction to green tea, not just any green tea but Honest Tea’s – Just Green Tea.  Love the stuff.  The underside of the lid has these little 6-word phrases submitted by people who drink it and the last bottle had one that really inspired me so I have been trying all week to figure out how to work it into my blog.  It dawned on me to use it as my title when I sat down to write this post 🙂

So I had a week full of workouts capped with the longest run I have done since last summer.  Not going to lie, I was a bit apprehensive about the run when I woke up this morning…it was below freezing, flurries were falling, I had never run with this group before, and I haven’t run over two-miles in several months.  Sounds like a boat load of excuses, huh?  I think I have Wade Mazingo to thank for getting me out the door this morning, he was the one that submitted the six word memoir to honest tea that become the title of this post, just in case you were wondering.

The run actually ended great, it was a little hairy in the middle but I learned a lot about myself on that run today.  Running brings a level of peace to my mind that I didn’t realize how much I missed until I experienced it again today.  We had to tackle a mountain today, quite literally, and not once but three times.  Prior to meeting this mountain for the first time, we had a crash course in tackling the “hills” on a run.  You know – people around here have a skewed perception of flat- and that really hit home today.  Anyway, so back to the crash course.  We were informed that the hill is not going to move, and if you try to attack it, the hill will win.  Every time.  So there are a few strategies to employ when facing a hill during a run.  I’m going to stop right there and run with this…

If you think about what those last few sentences really mean, you realized that a hill, while at face value may seem daunting and insurmountable, is a static object.  Something that is static never grows or changes.  You, however, as a person are dynamic.  You can adapt, bend, learn, and improve…just to name a few things.  When you put a dynamic object up against a static object, the first time the static object may win BUT the dynamic object can take that experience and learn from it, then use it to their advantage.  You see that static object lays all it’s cards out on the table in the first go-around.  The next time it’s presented, you know all that it has to offer, which means you can modify your approach so that you can overcome.  Today’s hill workout reminded me of the importance of being prepared for various obstacles that we may face in our life and more importantly the fact that just because something was difficult the first time, doesn’t mean it’s impossible and it certainly doesn’t mean you should quit.  The hill may have won the battle today, but I now know what to expect the next time I face that hill (and yes there will be a next time) and you better believe that it is only a matter of time before I own it.  I urge you all to take this into consideration next time you face a challenging situation 🙂

So now that I have given you a little insight into my head…time to share the menu.  You’ll have to excuse the picture-less post today.  I don’t have the image of my menu so I’m going to have to list it out.  I also don’t have last weeks recap, but I can tell you that things didn’t go quite according to plan.  I learned that I need to have more protein rich snacks in my diet or else I get really hungry and make poor decisions.  This weeks menu accounts for that (think back to the last few paragraphs on being dynamic) and I have to tell you, I am super excited about the food I’m going to be eating this week.

So here goes:

Breakfast:
Maple Blueberry Bacon Carnitas

Lunch:
Strawberry Goat Cheese Salad (similar to last weeks lunch, but I baked the chicken with blackberry glaze, cinnamon, and honey)

Sunday
Dinner: Blackberry glazed pork chops and caramelized onion and sweet potato stuffing

Monday/Tuesday
Dinner: Bacon and Spinach Stuffed Chicken with Roasted Broccoli on Monday and Brussel Sprouts on Tuesday

Wednesday/Thursday
Dinner:  Oven Roasted Chicken Thighs with Broccoli

Friday
Dinner: Chicken Bacon Alfredo

Saturday
Dinner: Mexican Burgers

So the goals for the week are to be more mindful about timing my meals and making sure that I get enough protein to sustain the amount of physical activity I am doing.  Also, to make sure that I don’t overeat after a workout.  I also want to take a picture of every meal that I eat so that I can share all of these yummy meals with you 🙂

The majority of the recipes that I am making this week come from PaleOMG’s website.  Check it out, she’s awesome and has a great sense of humor!

Alright y’all that’s enough from me, enjoy the rest of your Sunday!  Eat well, live happy!

🙂

Leave a Reply

